This Day In Wrestling History – August 22nd

Welcome to a new segment on Wrestle Pages where we look back at memorable moments that took place on this date in history of the Wrestling Sports Entertainment world!


2015 – We are going to just come right out of the gates swinging with what is likely the biggest moment that happened today. At NXT: Takeover Brooklyn, Sasha Banks and Bayley put on one of the most incredible women’s matches in NXT for the NXT Women’s Championship! This match would end up seeing Bayley finally capture her first NXT Title. Following the match, Charlotte Flair, Sasha Banks, Bayley, and Becky Lynch would all celebrate the win in the ring as the 4 Horsewomen. Since this win, Bayley has gone on to be the first woman in WWE history to be a Grand Slam Champion!


2016: In one of the most shocking moments in WWE, Finn Balor was forced to relinquish the brand new Universal Championship on Raw the day after winning the Title at SummerSlam. This was due in part to an injury he suffered in his shoulder that required surgery and would sideline him for nearly 7 months.

In the same show that night, Bayley would make her Main Roster Debut!




1999: SummerSlam at the Target Center in Minneapolis, MN:
– Jeff Jarrett defeated D’Lo Brown to unify the WWF Intercontinental and European Championships
– The Acolytes (Faarooq and Bradshaw) last defeated The Holly Cousins (Hardcore and Crash) in a Tag Team Turmoil match to become the #1 contender for the WWF Tag Team Championship. Other teams were Edge and Christian, The New Brood (Matt Hardy and Jeff Hardy), Droz and Prince Albert, and Mideon and Viscera
– Al Snow defeated The Big Boss Man to win the WWF Hardcore Championship
– Ivory defeated Tori to retain the WWF Womens Championship
– Ken Shamrock defeated Steve Blackman by knockout in a Lion’s Den weapons match
– Test defeated Shane McMahon in a “Love Her or Leave Her” Greenwich Street Fight
– The Undertaker and The Big Show defeated X-Pac and Kane to win the WWF Tag Team Championship
– The Rock defeated Mr. Ass in a Kiss My Ass match
– Mankind defeated Stone Cold Steve Austin and Triple H in a triple threat match to win the WWF Championship. Minnesota Governor Jesse “The Body” Ventura was the special referee

2002: Smackdown from the Crown Coliseum in Fayetteville, NC:
– The Hurricane & Shannon Moore defeated WWE Cruiserweight Champion Jamie Noble (w/ Nidia) & Tajiri
– Chavo Guerrero Jr. defeated Matt Hardy
– Billy Kidman defeated Kurt Angle
– Rikishi & John Cena defeated D-Von Dudley & Batista
– WWE Women’s Champion Molly Holly defeated Nidia (w/ Jamie Noble)
– WWE World Champion The Rock & Edge defeated WWE IC Champion Chris Benoit & Eddie Guerrero

2005: Raw aired from the Hampton Coliseum in Hampton, VA:
– Kurt Angle defeated Shelton Benjamin
– Rob Conway defeated Matt Hardy
— The Big Show defeated Gene Snitsky by Count Out
— John Cena (c) defeated Chris Jericho in a “You’re Fired” Match to retain the WWE Championship
– Torrie Wilson, Candice Michelle & 2005 Diva Search winner Ashley Massaro became new Divas on Raw. They were traded to Raw for Stacy Keibler and Christy Hemme, who were moved to Smackdown. Torrie & Candice turned heel by attacking Ashley.

2006: ECW from Mohegan Sun at Casey Plaza in Wilkes-Barre, PA:
– Tommy Dreamer, The Sandman & Torrie Wilson defeated Mike Knox, Test & Kelly Kelly
– Kevin Thorn (w/ Ariel) defeated Balls Mahoney in an Extreme rules match
– CM Punk defeated CW Anderson
– Rob Van Dam defeated Danny Doring
– ECW Champion The Big Show defeated Sabu via disqualification

2008: Smackdown from the I Wireless Center in Moline, IL:
– Dark Match: Takeshi Morishima (w/ Tony Atlas) defeats Jamie Noble
– Singles Match: Maria defeats Natalya by DQ
– Championship Scramble Qualifying Ten Man Battle Royal: The Brian Kendrick (w/ Ezekiel Jackson) defeats Armando Estrada and Curt Hawkins and Funaki and Jimmy Wang Yang and Ryan Braddock and Scotty Goldman and Super Crazy and Vladimir Kozlov and Zack Ryder
— Championship Scramble Qualifying Match: Montel Vontavious Porter defeats Festus (w/ Jesse) by Count Out
– Championship Scramble Qualifying Non Title Match: Shelton Benjamin defeats Finlay (w/ Hornswoggle)
– Championship Scramble Qualifying Match: Jeff Hardy defeats The Great Khali (w/ Ranjin Singh)
– Dark WWE Heavyweight Title Match: Triple H (c) defeats The Great Khali

2011: Raw aired from the Rexall Place in Edmonton, Alberta, Canada:
– Alberto Del Rio defeated John Morrison
– Eve Torres (w/ Kelly Kelly) defeated Nikki Bella (w/ Brie Bella)
— Alex Riley defeated Jack Swagger (w/ Vickie Guerrero)
– Air Boom (Evan Bourne & Kofi Kingston) defeated David Otunga & Michael McGillicutty (c) to win the WWE Tag Team Championship
– John Cena defeated CM Punk in a WWE Championship #1 Contender’s Match

2012: NXT from Full Sail University:
– Dark Match: Bo Dallas defeated Dean Ambrose
– Antonio Cesaro (w/ Aksana) defeated Derrick Bateman
– Tamina Snuka defeated Sofia Cortez
– Kassius Ohno defeated Jake Carter
– Airstrike (Justin Gabriel & Tyson Kidd) defeated Aggressively Weird (Johnny Curtis & Michael McGillicutty)

2014: Smackdown aired from US Airways Arena in Phoenix, AZ:
– Dark match: Cesaro defeated Kofi Kingston
– Seth Rollins defeated Jack Swagger by Count Out
– Rusev defeated Sin Cara by Submission
— Rob Van Dam defeated Randy Orton by Disqualification
– Natalya defeated Paige
– Stardust and Goldust defeated The Wyatt Family (Luke Harper & Erick Rowan)
– Roman Reigns defeated The Miz

2015: NXT: Takeover from the Barclays Center in Brooklyn, NY:
– Jushin Thunder Liger defeated Tyler Breeze
– The Vaudevillains (Aiden English & Simon Gotch) (w/ Blue Pants) defeated Blake and Murphy (w/ Alexa Bliss) (c) to win the NXT Tag Team Championship
– Apollo Crews defeated Tye Dillinger
– Samoa Joe defeated Baron Corbin by submission
– Bayley defeated Sasha Banks (c) to win the NXT Women’s Championship
– Finn Bálor (c) defeated Kevin Owens in a Ladder match to retain the NXT Championship

2016: Monday Night Raw from the Barclays Center in Brooklyn, NY:
– Seth Rollins defeated Sami Zayn in a WWE Universal Title #1 Contendership Qualifying Match
— Kevin Owens (w/ Chris Jericho) defeated Neville in a WWE Universal Title #1 Contendership Qualifying Match
– Big E (w/ Kofi Kingston & Xavier Woods) defeated Karl Anderson (w/ Luke Gallows)
– Big Cass (w/ Enzo Amore) defeated Rusev (w/ Lana) by Count Out in a WWE Universal Title #1 Contendership Qualifying Match
– Bayley defeated Dana Brooke (w/ Charlotte)
– Braun Strowman defeated Johnny Knockout
– Roman Reigns defeated Chris Jericho in a WWE Universal Title #1 Contendership Qualifying Match
— Dark Match: Dean Ambrose & John Cena defeated AJ Styles & Seth Rollins
– Bayley makes her Main Roster debut
– Balor is forced to relinquish the brand new WWE Universal Championship

2017: Smackdown from the Barclays Center in Brooklyn, NY:
– Dark Match: Breezango (Fandango & Tyler Breeze) defeated The Ascension (Konnor & Viktor)
– Bobby Roode defeated Aiden English
– The Usos (Jimmy & Jey Uso) defeated The Hype Bros (Mojo Rawley & Zack Ryder)
– Shinsuke Nakamura defeated The Singh Brothers (Samir & Sunil Singh) (w/ Jinder Mahal)
– Naomi & Becky Lynch defeated Natalya & Carmella (w/ James Ellsworth)
– AJ Styles (c) defeated Kevin Owens to retain the WWE United States Championship (w/ Shane McMahon and Baron Corbin as Special guest referee)

2018: NXT aired from Barclays Center in Brooklyn, NY:
— Bianca Belair defeated Deonna Purrazzo
– Pete Dunne (c) defeated Zack Gibson to retain the WWE United Kingdom Championship


Paul Ellering (1953) – Former Manager of Road Warriors, Disciples of Apocalypse, and The Authors of Pain



Jeshua (Samuel) Muchnick (1905 – December 30, 1998) – Founder of National Wrestling Alliance (NWA) and President of NWA for 22 years


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *