Richard Gray Ringside

This Day In Wrestling History – August 23rd


2004 – Raw saw the unholy marriage between Kane and Lita





2009 – SummerSlam would hold the first of six years in a row in Los Angeles from the Staples Center



2015 – SummerSlam would hold the first of four years in a row in New York from the Barclays Center




2016 – Smackdown saw the unveiling of the new “Blue Belts” for the Smackdown Tag Team Titles and WWE Women’s Championship




1999: Raw from Hilton Coliseum in Ames, Iowa
– Dark Match: Kurt Angle defeated Mitch Ryder
– Al Snow (c) Vs. The Road Dogg ended in a no contest in a WWF Hardcore Championship Match
– The Big Show & The Undertaker (w/ Paul Bearer) (c) Vs. The Acolytes (Bradshaw & Faarooq) ended in a no contest in a WWF Tag Team Championship Match
– D-Lo Brown defeated Mark Henry (c) by DQ to retain the WWF European Championship
– The Rock defeated Gangrel (w/ Jeff Hardy & Matt Hardy)
– Crash Holly vs. Hardcore Holly ended in a no contest
– Mideon & Viscera defeated Kane & X-Pac
– Triple H defeated Mankind (c) to win the WWF Championship (with Shane McMahon as Special guest referee)

2001: Smackdown from Pepsi Center in Denver, CO
– Rob Van Dam (c) vs. Jeff Hardy for the Hardcore Title ends in no Contest
– Billy Gunn & Big Show defeated The Dudley Boyz (Bubba Ray Dudley & D-Von Dudley)
– Kurt Angle defeated U.S Champion Kanyon in non-Title match
– Booker T, Rhyno & Test defeated The APA (Bradshaw & Faarooq) & The Rock
– Kane & The Undertaker (c) defeated Christian & Edge in WWF World Tag Team Title match to retain
– Ivory defeated Lita
– Steve Austin (c) defeated Chris Jericho in WWF Title match to retain

2004: Raw from Arrowhead Coliseum in Anaheim, CA
– Chris Jericho defeated Edge (c) by DQ for the WWE Intercontinental Championship
– William Regal (w/ Eugene) defeated Ric Flair (w/ Batista)


2009: SummerSlam from Staples Center in Los Angeles, CA (This is the first of 6 years in a row for SummerSlam in Los Angeles)
– Dark match: Beth Phoenix won a 15-diva battle royal (w/ Chavo Guerrero as the special referee)
– Rey Mysterio (c) defeated Dolph Ziggler to retain the WWE Intercontinental Championship
– Montel Vontavious Porter defeated Jack Swagger
– Jeri-Show (Big Show and Chris Jericho) (c) defeated Cryme Tyme (JTG and Shad Gaspard) to retain the WWE Unified Tag Team Championships
– Kane defeated Great Khali (w/ Ranjin Singh)
– D-Generation X (Triple H and Shawn Michaels) defeated The Legacy (Cody Rhodes and Ted DiBiase)
– Christian (c) defeated William Regal (w/ Vladimir Kozlov and Ezekiel Jackson) to retain the ECW Heavyweight Championship
– Randy Orton (c) defeated John Cena to retain the WWE Championship
– CM Punk defeated Jeff Hardy (c) in a Tables, Ladders, and Chairs match to win the World Heavyweight Championship

2010: Raw from Staples Center in Los Angeles
– Edge defeated R-Truth
– Chris Jericho defeated The Great Khali (w/ Ranjin Singh)
– Melina (c) defeated Jillian Hall to retain the WWE Divas Championship
– The Miz (c) defeated John Cena by Disqualification to retain the WWE United States Championship
– Santino Marella & Vladimir Kozlov defeated The Usos (Jey Uso & Jimmy Uso) (w/ Tamina)
– Randy Orton defeated John Morrison & Ted DiBiase (w/ Maryse) in a Triple Threat Match
– Sheamus (c) defeated Zack Ryder to retain the WWE Championship
– Dark Match: Team RAW (Chris Jericho, Edge, John Cena, John Morrison, R-Truth & Randy Orton) defeated Team SmackDown (CM Punk, Cody Rhodes, Jack Swagger, Kofi Kingston, Rey Mysterio & The Big Show) & The Nexus (David Otunga, Heath Slater, Justin Gabriel, Michael Tarver, Skip Sheffield & Wade Barrett) in an 18 Man Three Way Tag Team Battle Royal

2011: NXT from Scotiabank Saddledome in Calgary, Alberta, Canada
– Trent Baretta defeated Tyson Kidd
– Maxine (w/ Derrick Bateman) defeated AJ Lee (w/ Hornswoggle)


2013: Smackdown from Rabobank Arena in Bakersfield, CA
– Curtis Axel (w/ Paul Heyman) defeated Cody Rhodes
– Dolph Ziggler defeated Big E. Langston (w/ AJ Lee)
– Alberto Del Rio defeated Christian
– Big Show & Mark Henry defeated 3MB (Heath Slater, Drew McIntyre & Jinder Mahal) in a Handicap match
– Darren Young defeated Antonio Cesaro
– Daniel Bryan defeated Wade Barrett in a Steel Cage match
– Dark match: Daniel Bryan, Mark Henry & The Big Show defeated The Shield (Dean Ambrose, Roman Reigns & Seth Rollins)

2015: SummerSlam from Barclays Center in Brooklyn, NY (This is the first of 4 years in a row for SummerSlam from the Barclays Center)
– Sheamus defeated Randy Orton
– The New Day (Big E & Kofi Kingston) (w/ Xavier Woods) defeated Prime Time Players (Darren Young & Titus O’Neil) (c) Lucha Dragons (Kalisto & Sin Cara) and Los Matadores (Diego & Fernando) (w/ El Torito) in a Fatal 4-Way Tag Team Match to win the WWE Tag Team Championship
– Dolph Ziggler (w/ Lana) vs. Rusev (w/ Summer Rae) ended in a double countout
– Stephen Amell & Neville defeated Stardust & Wade Barrett
– Ryback (c) defeated The Big Show and The Miz in a Triple Threat Match to retain the WWE Intercontinental Championship
– Roman Reigns & Dean Ambrose defeated Bray Wyatt & Luke Harper
– Seth Rollins [WWE] (c) defeated John Cena [United States] (c) in a United States Championship vs. WWE World Heavyweight Championship match to win the WWE United States Championship
– PCB (Paige, Charlotte and Becky Lynch) defeated Team Bella (The Bella Twins and Alicia Fox) and Team B.A.D. (Tamina, Sasha Banks and Naomi) in a Three-Team Elimination Match
– Kevin Owens defeated Cesaro
– The Undertaker defeated Brock Lesnar (w/ Paul Heyman) by submission

2016: Smackdown from Mohegan Sun Arena in Uncasville, CT
– Becky Lynch defeated Alexa Bliss by submission
– The Usos (Jimmy & Jey Uso) defeated The Ascension (Konnor & Viktor) in a WWE Smackdown Tag Team Championship Tournament First Round Match
– American Alpha (Jason Jordan & Chad Gable) defeated Breezango (Fandango & Tyler Breeze) in a WWE Smackdown Tag Team Championship Tournament First Round Match
– A.J. Styles defeated Dolph Ziggler (Had Ziggler won, the title match would have changed a triple threat on Backlash)
– Dark Match: Dean Ambrose, John Cena & Roman Reigns defeated Seth Rollins & The Wyatt Family (Bray Wyatt & Erick Rowan)

2017: NXT from Barclays Center in Brooklyn, NY
– Peyton Royce (w/ Billie Kay) defeated Sarah Logan
– Pete Dunne & Wolfgang defeated Trent Seven & Tyler Bate





Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *