This Day in Wrestling History – August 28th


2003 – NJPW would hold the very first cage match in their 30 year history, featuring Yoshihito Takayama defeating Masahiro Chono. Takayama would win the match via TKO to win the IWGP Heavyweight Championship


Image result for summerslam 19891989: SummerSlam from Meadowlands Arena in East Rutherford, NJ
– Dark Match: Dino Bravo defeated Koko B. Ware
– The Brain Busters (Arn Anderson and Tully Blanchard) (w/ Bobby Heenan) defeated The Hart Foundation (Bret Hart and Jim Neidhart)
– Dusty Rhodes defeated The Honky Tonk Man (w/ Jimmy Hart)
– Mr. Perfect defeated The Red Rooster
– Rick Martel and The Fabulous Rougeaus (Jacques and Raymond) (w/ Jimmy Hart and Slick) defeated Tito Santana and The Rockers (Shawn Michaels and Marty Jannetty)
– The Ultimate Warrior defeated Rick Rude (c) (w/ Bobby Heenan) to win the WWF Intercontinental Championship
– Jim Duggan and Demolition (Smash and Ax) defeated André the Giant and The Twin Towers (The Big Boss Man and Akeem) (w/ Bobby Heenan and Slick)
– Greg Valentine (w/ Jimmy Hart) defeated Hercules
– Ted DiBiase (w/ Virgil) defeated Jimmy Snuka by Countout
– Hulk Hogan and Brutus Beefcake (w/ Miss Elizabeth) defeated Randy Savage and Zeus (w/ Sensational Sherri)

2000: Raw from Greensboro Coliseum in Greensboro NC
– Chris Jericho & The APA (Bradshaw & Faarooq) defeated Chris Benoit & T&A (Albert & Test) (w/ Trish Stratus)
– Chyna (w/ Eddie Guerrero) (c) defeated Val Venis to retain the WWF Intercontinental Championship
– Rikishi (w/ Grandmaster Sexay, Mandy, Scotty 2 Hotty & Victoria) vs. Steven Richards (w/ Bull Buchanan & The Goodfather) ended in a no contest
– Steve Blackman (c) defeated Tazz to retain the WWF Hardcore Championship
– Lita (c) defeated Jacqueline to retain the WWF Women’s Championship
– Triple H defeated Eddie Guerrero by DQ
– Perry Saturn & Terri Runnels defeated Al Snow & The Kat
– The Rock (c) defeated Kane to retain the WWF Championship

2003: SmackDown from Haskins Center in El Paso, TX
– Rey Mysterio (c) defeated Nunzio to retain the WWE Cruiserweight Championship
– Chris Benoit defeated The A-Train (w/ Sable)
– Eddie Guerrero (c) defeated John Cena by DQ to retain the WWE United States Championship
– The Undertaker defeated Brock Lesnar and The Big Show in a Triple Threat WWE Heavyweight Title No # 1 Contendership Match

2006: Raw from Boardwalk Hall in Atlantic City, NJ
– John Cena defeated Chris Masters by DQ
– Candice Michelle defeated Torrie Wilson in a Paddle On A Pole Match
– Jeff Hardy defeated Randy Orton in a Intercontinental Title Match # 1 Contendership
– The Spirit Squad (Kenny & Mikey) (w/ Johnny, Mitch & Nicky) (c) defeated Eugene & Jim Duggan to retain the World Tag Team Championships
– Lita (c) defeated Mickie James to retain the WWE Women’s Championship
– D-Generation X (Shawn Michaels & Triple H) defeated Fit Finlay, Mr. Kennedy, & William Regal in a Three On Two Handicap Match

2007: ECW from Times Union Center in Albany, NY
– Kevin Thorn defeated Stevie Richards
– Elijah Burke defeated Balls Mahoney
– CM Punk defeated Big Daddy V (w/ Matt Striker), The Boogeyman & The Miz to become #1 contender for the ECW Heavyweight Championship


2009: Raw from US Airways Arena in Phoenix, AZ
– John Morrison & Matt Hardy defeated The Hart Dynasty (David Hart Smith & Tyson Kidd) (w / Natalya)
– Drew McIntyre vs R-Truth ends No Contest
– Melina defeated Layla
– Rey Mysterio defeated Kane by DQ
– Chris Jericho (w / The Big Show) vs Shad Gaspard (w / JTG) ends in No Contest
– Chris Jericho & The Big Show defeated Cryme Tyme (JTG & Shad Gaspard)
– World Heavyweight Title Loser Leaves WWE Steel Cage Match: CM Punk (c) defeated Jeff Hardy
– Dark Six Man Tag Team Match: D-Generation X (Shawn Michaels & Triple H) & John Cena defeated Legacy (Cody Rhodes, Randy Orton & Ted DiBiase)

2013: NXT from Full Sail University in Winter Park, FL
– Dark Match: Mojo Rawley defeated Danny Burch
– Tyler Breeze defeated CJ Parker
– Emma defeated Summer Rae
– Scott Dawson (w/ Sylvester Lefort) defeated Enzo Amore (w/ Colin Cassady)
– Adrian Neville defeated Conor O’Brian (w/ Rick Victor)

2014: NXT from Full Sail University in Winter Park, FL
– The Ascension (Konnor & Viktor) defeat local competitors
– Bayley defeats Sasha Banks
– Bull Dempsey defeats Angelo Dawkins
– Tyson Kidd & Tyler Breeze defeats Adrian Neville & Sami Zayn

2017: Raw from FedEx Forum in Memphis, TN
– Jeff Hardy won a 20-Man Battle Royal to be the #1 Contender for the WWE Intercontinental Championship
– Enzo Amore defeated Noam Dar
– Cesaro (w/ Sheamus) defeated Seth Rollins (w/ Dean Ambrose)
– Dean Ambrose (w/ Seth Rollins) defeated Sheamus (w/ Cesaro)
– Emma defeated Mickie James
– Roman Reigns & John Cena defeated Luke Gallows & Karl Anderson
– Alexa Bliss defeated Sasha Banks (c) to win the WWE Raw Women’s Championship
– Dark Match: Finn Balor defeated Bray Wyatt in a Street Fight

2018: SmackDown from Scotiabank Arena in Toronto, Ontario, Canada
– Dark Match: R-Truth & Tye Dillinger defeated SAnitY (Alexander Wolfe & Eric Young) (w/ Killian Dain)
– The Bar (Sheamus & Cesaro) defeated Gallows and Anderson and The Colons (Primo & Epico) in a Triple Threat Match in a WWE Smackdown Tag Team Championship Tournament First Round Match
– Billie Kay (w/ Peyton Royce) defeated Naomi
– Daniel Bryan (w/ Brie Bella) defeated Andrade Almas (w/ Zelina Vega) by disqualification
– Charlotte Flair (c) defeated Carmella by submission to retain the WWE SmackDown Women’s Championship




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *