5 Fun Facts From Slammiversary 2006

14 days remain until Impact Wrestling‘s latest installment of Slammiversary. With that being said, here’s a look back at Slammiversary 2006.

Team 3D opened the show

Brother Ray and Brother Devon have quite the history in TNA’s tag team division. Their years of teaming in various companies brought them to the opening match of Slammiversary 2006 with a solidifying Bingo Hall Brawl win over “The James Gang” BG James and Kip James, otherwise known as Road Dogg and Billy Gunn.

Team Gore vs. Team Canada

WWE, ECW, TNA… You name it, and Rhino was there. In the second match of the main card, the master of the Gore competed in a two-on-one handicap match against Team Canada’s Bobby Roode and Scott D’Amore. There’s a strong chance Rhino will find himself on a Slammiversary card once again in 2020.

Kevin Nash went over a rising star

Believe it or not, Kevin Nash’s TNA run lasted nearly seven years. And just two years into his time there, Nash was put up against a future World Champion in Chris Sabin. With Alex Shelley in his corner, Nash picked up the win over his smaller opponent.

AJ Styles & Christopher Daniels struck gold

The beauty of TNA was that guys like AJ Styles and Christopher Daniels could be seen in any division. Whether it was the X-Division, the main event scene, or the tag team division, they were capable of carrying the weight. At Slammiversary 2006, Styles and Daniels united to beat America’s Most Wanted to capture the NWA Tag Team Championship.

A who’s-who main event

To keep the tradition going, a King of the Mountain NWA World Championship match headlined this event with five top names in action. This particular battle saw Jeff Jarrett dethrone Christian Cage for the World Title with the likes of Abyss, Ron Killings, and Sting also competing.

Below is the entire Slammiversary 2006 match card:

  1. Pre-Show: Eric Young & A-1 def. The Naturals
  2. Bingo Hall Brawl: Team 3D def. The James Gang
  3. Handicap: Rhino def. Bobby Roode & Scott D’Amore
  4. Elimination: Senshi def. Sonjay Dutt, Alex Shelley, Shark Boy, Petey Williams & Jay Lethal
  5. Kevin Nash def. Chris Sabin
  6. NWA Tag Team Championship: AJ Styles & Christopher Daniels def. America’s Most Wanted (c)
  7. Samoa Joe def. Scott Steiner
  8. King of the Mountain NWA World Championship: Jeff Jarrett def. Christian Cage (c), Abyss, Ron Killings & Sting

Stay tuned for more editions of Slammiversary Fun Facts in the days leading up to Slammiversary 2020.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *