5 Fun Facts From Slammiversary 2007

13 days remain until Impact Wrestling‘s latest installment of Slammiversary. With that being said, here’s a look back at Slammiversary 2007.

LAX’s first Slammiversary

No, this wasn’t the first Slammiversary for Santana and Ortiz. It fact, it was the first incarnation of LAX, Homicide and Hernandez, that took center stage in the opening match against the tandem of Rhino and Senshi. Unfortunately for LAX, Rhino and Senshi proved to be victorious. Not even Konnan at ringside could change the outcome.

Jay Lethal won his first X-Division Title

Before he became the Ring of Honor mainstay that he is today, Jay Lethal used to rock it in TNA’s X-Division. At Slammiversary 2007, Lethal was able to dethrone Chris Sabin to capture his first X-Division Championship. Sadly, this reign only lasted for two days before ending at the hands of Samoa Joe.

Bob Backlund beat Alex Shelley

TNA/Impact Wrestling has had so many recognizable names walk through their doors over the years. In 2007, wrestling legend Bob Backlund found himself a spot on the card. Even better for him, Backlund was able to beat Alex Shelley in nearly four minutes.

Fight forever?

In Match 6 of the night, Eric Young went one-on-one with Robert Roode. It’s interesting to track these two as they’ve followed each other nearly everywhere in both TNA and WWE. However, about a decade before they went to WWE, Eric Young scored a singles pay-per-view win over his former tag team partner. It was only just the beginning for them.

Kurt Angle became King of the Mountain

Future WWE Hall of Famer Kurt Angle making the jump to TNA was a huge deal back in the day. He was a big name that the company could push to the front, and that’s exactly what happened. At Slammiversary 2007, Angle captured the vacant TNA World Title in a King of the Mountain match against Christian Cage, AJ Styles, Samoa Joe, and Chris Harris.

Below is the entire Slammiversary 2007 match card:

  1. Rhino & Senshi def. LAX
  2. X-Division Championship: Jay Lethal def. Chris Sabin (c)
  3. Jerry Lynn & Frank Wycheck def. James Storm & Ron Killings
  4. Bob Backlund def. Alex Shelley
  5. BG James & Kip James def. Bashma & Damaja
  6. Eric Young def. Robert Roode
  7. TNA Tag Team Championship: Team 3D (c) def. Rick Steiner & Road Warrior Animal
  8. Sting def. Christopher Daniels
  9. No DQ: Abyss def. Tomko
  10. King of the Mountain TNA World Championship: Kurt Angle def. Christian Cage, AJ Styles, Samoa Joe, and Chris Harris

Stay tuned for more editions of Slammiversary Fun Facts in the days leading up to Slammiversary 2020.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *